How Many Camels Am I Worth?

On a recent trip to Morocco our tour guide made a joke to my partner about how many camels he thought I was worth. It became a running joke throughout the holiday but has stuck with me. Of course, my partner answered thousands of camels because he didn’t want to offend me but I have done some research into this and found numerous websites that will give a rough estimate. Some sites will only consider the physical attributes and age, while others offer up an IQ test, degrees and family illnesses.

The first site I found estimated that I was worth 74 camels. If a camel was worth around 2000 euros that would me in monetary value I am worth about 148,000 euros which is actually probably about the amount my parents have helped pay for my education, at least for university.

Alternatively, I looked at how many goats my dowry is worth on this site. It was much lower at 9 but was given the comment “You’re almost the most beautiful girl here”. This was not the only patronizing comment I met during this research. The site girlfriendrecycling.com was infuriating. Under political orientation Feminist was listed as “because she needs someone to blame”. If my weight was over 148lbs the option was “buy one get one free”. One of the face options was “Yassar Arafat” to signify ugliness. As an option for Ass Shape it was recommended for white women to select Flat. It’s hard to believe that this gets worse but it does. I would recommend seeking it out for yourself if looking for a way make one’s blood boil.

Another interesting site I found was Human for Sale which asked for my IQ, qualification status, family illness history among others. I was pleased to find my worth to be a more generous $1,703,058.

While I generally detest the idea of considering a person’s worth in monetary value, particularly in relation to marriage, this has been an interesting exercise. I would have hoped for more camels but 74 is quite a handful, much like myself.

 

 

 

Leave a comment